About Geoff
Jeff's SiteArchives
 Contact Us
 Links Page
home / archives / 1987 / 16th March

Higher resolution version available: click on image to download.



Liberal Premier of Tasmania Robyn Gray was re-elected for a 2nd term on 8th February, 1986. Controversy existed with the logging of Tasmanian forests and the Labor and Green Parties were to form an alliance during this term.

Meantime Tasmanian Liberals were refusing to approve of John Devereux's appointment as a Tasmanian Labor Senator. He later won the place by election on 7th July, 1987. John Howard and Ian Sinclair were threatened leaders as the election approached. Joh Bjelke Peterson further complicated matters by making a tilt at the Prime Ministership.